The Seventh Annual Prelude to the Dream

May 17th, 2011 by Staff

The Seventh Annual Prelude to the Dream is an all-star dirt Late Model race featuring more than 25 world renowned drivers at the famed Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. This year’s event takes place on Wednesday, June 8.


It will be presented live to the entire nation on HBO Pay-Per-View with proceeds from the telecast supporting four of the nation’s top children’s hospitals:


·                     Levine Children’s Hospital in Charlotte, N.C.:

·                     Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta:

·                     St. Louis Children’s Hospital:

·                     Children’s Medical Center Dallas:


The live, commercial-free broadcast will begin at 8 p.m. EDT (5 p.m. PDT) with an immediate replay. Ordering information and up-to-the minute racing information is available at either or


The six previous Prelude to the Dreams have collectively raised more than $3 million.


For those who want to see the Prelude to the Dream in person, tickets are available online at or by calling the track office (937) 338-3815. (The race has sold out in previous years.)


The race feature stars from the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR Nationwide Series, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series. All will join two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Tony Stewart in piloting 2,300-pound dirt Late Model stock cars capable of putting out more than 800 horsepower.


The Prelude to the Dream is a team event. There is still an individual race winner, but there is also a race within the race, with the field broken up into four teams, each representing a children’s hospital:


·      Team Levine: Jimmie Johnson, Denny Hamlin, Bill Elliott, David Reutimann, Austin Dillon, Ray Evernham and Cruz Pedregon.

·      Team Atlanta: Ryan Newman, Carl Edwards, Clint Bowyer, Joey Logano, Ken Schrader, David Gilliland and Ron Capps.

·      Team St. Louis: Kyle Busch, Kasey Kahne, Bobby Labonte, Justin Allgaier, Kenny Wallace, Ron Hornaday and Ricky Carmichael.

·      Team Dallas: Stewart, Matt Kenseth, Brian Vickers, Marcos Ambrose, Aric Almirola and Dave Blaney.



Each hospital will receive a donation, with the payout breakdown as follows:


·      Winning team receives 30 percent of net proceeds raised from Pay-Per-View.

·      Second-place team receives 25 percent of net proceeds raised from Pay-Per-View.

·      Third- and fourth-place teams each receive 20 percent of net proceeds raised from Pay-Per-View.



The lowest team score wins, and only the top-five drivers from each team will be scored. For example, if Team Levine has finishes of first, fourth, seventh, 11th and 18th, respectively, from its top-five drivers, its score will be 41. In the event of a tie, the sixth driver will be scored.


Drivers from all types of disciplines, some with lots of dirt track experience and others with hardly any, will participate in qualifying, heat races and a 30-lap feature, all of which will be televised live on HBO Pay-Per-View.



With no points and no pressure, the Prelude to the Dream is a throwback race, allowing drivers to step back in time and compete for the reasons they all went racing in the first place – pride and a trophy. And they’ll do it on the same surface that racing legends A.J. Foyt and Mario Andretti competed on nearly 50 years ago. 


Other interesting storylines include:


·         More Than 50 Driving/Riding Titles Represented at the Prelude


·         Dirt Veterans vs. Dirt Neophytes: Stewart, Kahne, Newman, Blaney, Bowyer, Elliott, Schrader, Allgaier and Wallace grew up on dirt tracks, while Busch, Almirola, Hamlin and Logano spent the majority of their racing upbringing on asphalt.


·         What Happens When a Drag Racer has to Turn the Steering Wheel?: Capps is a 15-year veteran of the NHRA and Pedregon is a 17-year NHRA driver, where straight-line runs over 300 mph are commonplace. They’ll have to turn right to go left as they sling their dirt Late Models around Eldora.

(comments are closed).