Bucs’ WR Jackson nominated for NFL’s Walter Payton award

December 16th, 2014 by Staff

(BTLS Staff) TAMPA – For the second consecutive year wide receiver Vincent Jackson has been nominated by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers for the National Football League’s Walter Payton Man of the Year Award.

That designation earned him the Bucs’ MOY award.

Three of the 32 nominees will be selected as finalists for the award named for the legendary Chicago Bears running back who passed away in 1999.

The finalists will be named in January and the winner will be named during the 4th Annual NFL Honors awards show on January 31, 2015 in Arizona, home of Super Bowl XLIX.

“We admire and support the important work that these players and so many other NFL players are doing to serve their communities,” said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. “The NFL is filled with outstanding young men who help schools, shelters and countless other organizations and good causes.”

Since joining Tampa Bay in 2012 Jackson has established himself as a team leader. Voted a team captain for all three seasons with the organization, the veteran wide receiver has amassed 3,539 receiving yards – the 7th most in the league during that span.

The three finalists will receive an additional $5,000 donation and the winner will get an additional $20,000 in his name.

Jackson has been voted to the Pro Bowl three times during his career. He is a staunch supporter of any effort that will benefit military veterans and their family members.

His Jackson in Action83 Foundation was inspired by his father Terence, who served 21 years in the Army. He understands what it’s like growing up in a military family.

In October Jackson held a baby shower for expecting military moms in the Bay area.

“I knew growing up in a military household, sometimes things are tight,” explained the Bucs wide-out on the day of the event. “I know it’s going to go a long way for these families, especially these young families to help keep some of that stuff in their pocket.”

Jackson was born in Fort Polk, Louisiana. Growing up he spent time in Arizona, Colorado and Germany.

He launched the Jackson in Action 83 foundation on Veteran’s Day 2012.

Listed below in a list of recent Buccaneer Man of the Year winners, going back to 2000:

2014 WR Vincent Jackson
2013 WR Vincent Jackson
2012 G Davin Joseph
2011 G Davin Joseph
2010 LB Adam Hayward
2009 RB Clifton Smith
2008 QB Jeff Garcia
2007 K Matt Bryant
2006 CB Ronde Barber
2005 LB Ryan Nece
2004 LB Shelton Quarles
2003 S John Lynch
2002 S John Lynch
2001 S John Lynch
2000 LB Derrick Brooks (NFL Walter Payton Man of the Year Award winner)

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment. You are free to voice your opinion but please keep it clean. Any comments using profanity will be rejected.